Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Trouble setting up Laptop to my Network
12-06-2010, 12:00 AM
Trouble setting up Laptop to my Network
Forgive my ignorance but I am new to setting up "networks" myself. Here's my situation. I have an older Compaq Presario 2500 laptop I inherited from my daughter by buying hers so she can get a better one for college. It was running great until a month ago. I used it for accessing auto forums and emails. Started when I warned "other" family member not to use IE browser due to the number of known hacking attacks done to IE. "USE Firefox" !!!! I do, Anyway long story short, she wouldn't listen. I was setting up all the virus software etc when she used it. It got hit with spyware, and ugly trojans. I had downloaded the trial NOD32 prior and helped alot. Before I could get the full version (before the trial expired), the damage was done. I had to format and reload Windows XP. No problem there. Had Windows XP SP1 with the new installation. Used my desktop and downloaded the SP1a and SP2. Then by transferring these files via smart drive, updated the laptop.
The problem is I lost the network connection to log onto our home network. The laptop has ALi Fast Infrared Controller ,
File Version 5.1.2536 (XPClient .....) Is this the way it connects to my home modum. I have Verizon Wireless DSL Modem Router GT704 WG.
When I look at Device Manager, under Other Devices, Network Controller, PCI Modem, and Video Controller (VFA Compatible) are all Question marked. And all 3 are Manufacture Unknown. Is the PCI Modem part of the problem? I looked for drivers ALi online and could not find it.
I need help? How do I get the laptop talking to wireless networks again? I had previously used it at wireless sites? Now its a dumb separated laptop.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-06-2010, 11:59 AM
RE: Trouble setting up Laptop to my Network
go to HP's web site. look for drivers. Done. YAY!

Desktop PC
i7 Sandy Bridge